Polly is teething

Polly is teething at the moment – it’s the worst teething I think I’ve witnessed since becoming a mum (unless I’ve totally blocked out Tabitha’s worst moments!). On Saturday night Polly was awake ALL night. She first stirred around 8pm and just did not re-settle. Typically, Tom was out at a wedding reception, so I was flying solo, doing everything in my power to get her back to sleep (milk, teething granules, Calpol). At times she’d go quiet for 20 mins or so, but then start up screaming again. She wouldn’t even be cuddled – if I tried to hold or rock her she’d wriggle and writhe and get crosser and crosser. 

When Tom got home (drunk as a skunk) in the early hours, Polly was still at it and Tom even took her out in the pram to try and settle her. Needless to say, once home, she woke up screaming again after about 20 minutes, by which point Tom had passed out on the sofa. So I took Polly back into bed with me and she finally fell asleep and slept for about an hour, waking up just before 7am.

In a cruel twist of fate, Tom had to work on Sunday (he NEVER works on a Sunday normally), so I was flying solo once again looking after two kids (one a total grump) on about one-hour’s sleep. Not fun at all. I thought Polly might have an extended nap, but alas, she managed about an hour all day.

I feared last night was going to be another all-nighter, but after being unsettled until just after midnight, Polly crashed out until 7.30am. She must have been exhausted, bless her.

I hope this bout of teething finishes soon as I really hate seeing poor Polly so uncomfortable. She has puffy cheeks, is drooling like a tap, nappy rash, and won’t take her dummy, which she usually loves.

Leave a comment